ChicagoismynewBlog

Archive for November 8th, 2009

I FINALLY went to Rick Bayless’ new restaurant Xoco in Chicago’s River North (2.5/5 Stars).

Posted by ChicagoismynewBlog! on November 8, 2009

So after opening up a couple months ago, all I’ve heard is that everyone I know in Chicago wants to go to Rick Bayless’ new restaurant, Xoco, located at 449 North Clark Street.  I wanted to visit Xoco because I had heard it was more of a fast food and more inexpensive version of Rick’s other restaurants, Topolobampo and Frontera Grill.  While I agree that Xoco is both of the above, it’s still expensive as hell.  I spent over $19.00 for my meal which is not what I consider inexpensive.

I ordered the Pepito ($12.00) which is braised Tallgrass shortribs, caramelized onion, artisan Jack cheese, black beans, pickled jalapenos.  Now, I have to admit, the Pepito was an awesome sandwich.  Now, I’m sure Rick Bayless would hate to have his sandwich described as a much better Portillo’s Italian beef sandwich but that’s all I thought about when I was eating it.  Personally, I would take this as a compliment because Portillo’s Italian beefs are awesome.  I also had an order of fresh chips and Frontera guacamole ($4.00) and one homemade churro ($1.25).  Obviously I could have gone without the churro in order to save money, but I felt like the chips and guac were necessary.  You know how a burger comes with fries?  Well, this sandwich didn’t come with anything else.

My sister ordered the Gunthorp Chicken sandwich which is wood-roasted red chile chicken, caramelized onion, black beans, avocado and tomatillo salsa ($8.50).  She didn’t like it and only finished half of the sandwich.  I thought it was alright, but the red chile sauce was so thick and almost chalky in texture.

Our friends both ordered the slow-cooked pork carnitas with potato-masa dumplings, chayote, roasted serrano chile, spinach, arugula, avocado…all in soup form ($11.50).  Neither of them liked it and for one, it was too spicy and painful to even finish.  Again, I thought it was good but not $11.50 good.  Everyone but me ordered the hot chocolate and althought it was very rich for two of the three, I thought it was awesome…think melted chocolate mixed with a teaspoon of water.  That’s how rich it was. 

 The service and food came out very fast and they definitely have it down to a ‘T’ so I give them props for that.  Too bad Xoco isn’t larger because it could definitely use more tables at times.  Click HERE for their menu!

Pepito

The Pepito sandwich!

xocofront

Posted in Restaurant, River North | 3 Comments »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.