ChicagoismynewBlog

Thai hideaway and good food at Silver Spoon on Rush Street (4/5 Stars).

Posted by ChicagoismynewBlog! on June 21, 2009


First introduced to me by a couple friends who live in the neighborhood, I have now passed my love of the Silver Spoon to other friends and visitors.  The Silver Spoon, located at 710 N. Rush Street, is a hole in the wall Thai restaurant that is tucked away in the basement level of a building but within a minute from the Mag Mile.  Most times that I have visited, there was no wait, and every time the service was attentive, and the food came out very quickly.  For my most recent visit to Silver Spoon, I went with my sister Diane and our friend Andrea and we went the whole “sharing route”…here’s what we ordered:

I ordered the Bamee BBQ Pork without broth which is steamed egg noodles topped with sliced BBQ pork, garlic, green onion, bean sprouts, and cilantro.  The reason I stray away from having broth is strictly because I am not a huge fan of soup. 

Andrea ordered the Ginger Chicken which has stir-fired chicken sautéed with ginger root, onions, mushrooms, carrots and baby corn.  Out of all three dishes, we all agreed this was the least favorite…but good nonetheless.

Diane ordered the Pad Thai…go figure.  Her Pad Thai had thin noodles, stir fried with egg, bean sprouts, onions, tofu topped with carrots, green onions and ground peanuts.  Diane opted out of the tofu for this dish.

We also split an order of spring rolls which were amazing and, for an appetizer, the quantity was pretty large.  I’ll definitely order them again the next time I’m at the Silver Spoon.

Leave a Reply

 
