ChicagoismynewBlog

Archive for April 3rd, 2009

Paulina Brown Liners, your prayers are answered!

Posted by ChicagoismynewBlog! on April 3, 2009

After months and months of waiting and having to travel to either the Southport or Addison stops to catch the train, the Paulina Brown Line station has opened it’s brand spanking new station today, Friday, April 3rd.  The new station is located at 3410 N. Lincoln Avenue.  The Brown Line capacity expansion cost around $530M and helped to lengthen the station platforms to accommodate longer trains, to make every station accessible for people with disabilities, and to give each station a complete overhaul.  Lets face it, those station looked like they’d cave in at any moment.  Now, I haven’t been to the new station yet, but this is what it’s supposed to look like based on a picture from Paulina’s CTA website.

paulina-stop

Posted in Transportation | Leave a Comment »

Ken Tones Drive-In in Pilsen (4.5/5 stars)

Posted by ChicagoismynewBlog! on April 3, 2009

So a few weeks ago, on the recommendation of my co-worker, I paid a visit to Ken Tones Drive-In.  They’re located at 551 W. 18th Street, at the intersection of 18th and Canalport, and this diner is always swarming with regulars.  I was told Ken Tones does, well…everything right, from breakfast to lunch.  Ken Tones Drive-In is open between 6AM – 5PM Monday through Friday and 6AM – 4PM on Saturdays which gives you plenty of time to visit.

I ordered:  2 hot dogs and fries ($2.25 each) and a small beef and vegetable soup ($2.35).  The owner told me their soups are homemade every morning and it tasted every bit like homemade soup…kudos to you Ken Tones.  I also have to admit that, even though I’ve lived in Chicago for about two years, I have never had a legitimate Chicago style hot dog.  I’ve been a devoted ketchup fan since I can remember but these hot dogs didn’t need an ounce of that “red stuff.”

100_0678-copy

100_0685-copy1

100_0684-copy1  

Posted in Food, Restaurant | 2 Comments »

Don’t you just love it when plans come together? (4/5 stars)

Posted by ChicagoismynewBlog! on April 3, 2009

My friend James had been trying to persuade Tom, Melody, Anna, and I to go to this restaurant called Rinconcito Sudamericano, a place that he had been with his fam.  Well, he finally got us to go but I honestly don’t know why we were so weirded out by the idea of going to a Peruvian restaurant.  I’m glad we finally went, and to tell you the truth, I can’t wait to go back again…hear that James?  After many years at another location, Rinconcito Sudamericano moved to its new spot alongside their sister restaurant, Rios D’Sudamerica, at 2010 W. Armitage Avenue.

I ordered:  Aji de Gallina which is shredded chicken, walnut cream, and Peruvian spices served with white rice ($14.00).  Just mix it all together and it tastes amazing.  Plus, you get so much that you’ll only be able to eat half of the plate, leaving enough for lunch the next day.

Tom ordered:  Tallarin Verde con Apanado which is sautéed spaghetti in a pesto sauce with basil and spinach, served with a breaded tender steak and grilled potato ($16.00).  I had a bite and it was really good.

James and Melody ordered:  Lomo Saltado which is sautéed tender beef, onion, tomatoes and fried potatoes served with rice ($15.00).  James’ parents, who were born and raised in Peru, love this restaurant so you know it’s legit Peruvian food.

Forgive me Anna, but I have no idea what you ordered…I’m assuming something with seafood though.

rios

Posted in Food, Restaurant | Leave a Comment »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.