ChicagoismynewBlog

Thank Jebus for TGI Fridays…(3/5 Stars)

Posted by ChicagoismynewBlog! on April 1, 2009


Still fresh off my posts of classy places to eat, my friend Brian and I made our way over to the  TGI Friday’s at 153 E. Erie Street after watching ‘I Love You, Man’ at the AMC Lowes at 600 N. Michigan Avenue

Brian ordered the Jack Daniel’s® Flat Iron:
An aged, flavorful, half–pound steak, hand–cut for Friday’s.® Seasoned and fire–grilled to order, then glazed and served with our Jack Daniel’s® glaze and mashed potatoes. One of the most popular steaks around. ($9.95)

I ordered the Chipotle Grilled Steak Sandwich:
A winner on Food Network’s Ultimate Recipe Showdown. Cajun–rubbed skirt steak piled on toasted ciabatta with Colby and Monterey Jack, roasted plantains & chipotle mayo. Onion rings on the side ($9.95).  This was the second time ordering this sandwich because I am a major fan of plantains.  You get that salty/savory/sweet combo going to the sandwich.  The steak the first time around was really tough which made it pretty difficult to keep in sandwich form.  This time was no different.  Tough steak aside, I would still order the sandwich.

T.G.I. FRIDAY'S CHIPOTLE GRILLED STEAK SANDWICH

Service was alright, our waitress spoke at a volume only audible to (insert animal with good hearing here).  Plus we could tell she was bored as hell and that TGI Friday’s was the last place she wanted to be.  Maybe she wanted to go with her fellow tweens and watch the Jonas Brothers movie, after all, it’s in 3D.  Also, thanks to TGI Friday’s for the food descriptions and picture of my delicious sandwich.

2 Responses to “Thank Jebus for TGI Fridays…(3/5 Stars)”

  1. matt said

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  2. Anna said

    Hey…finally checked out your blog now that it’s legit and all. Anyhoo, I tried that chipotle steak sandwich too and was surprised at how much I liked it. I don’t think I got onion rings though, that was a good call by you! Plantains are delish! Have you ever tried a jamaican nachos made w/ plantain chips? yum-O.

    Btw, I forgive you for not remembering my order at the Peruvian place…I don’t remember my order either. At least you got my quote right 🙂

    Congrats on your blog’s success…

Leave a Reply

 
