ChicagoismynewBlog

New high rise condo planned for Lakeview East and Lincoln Park border!

Posted by ChicagoismynewBlog! on January 9, 2010


Thanks to Skyscrapercity user “spyguy” for the three photos!  Rumor, and I mean rumor is that this new residential high rise development is actually two separate buildings called Parkway Point.  The smaller building is rumored to have 50 condos and will be around 114ft tall.  The taller building may have 60 units and will be 150ft tall.  Thankfully, it looks like Parkway Point will include parking which is definitely necessary given the lack of parking already in the neighborhood.

In order for Parkway Point to be built, a courtyard apartment building, another retail building, and a parking lot will need to be demolished.  As much as I love new development, I do have to say that I am slightly bummed because that vintage courtyard building is nice and looks well maintained.  But I bet I’d get over it fast when I see this finished.

Another thing I’m NOT looking forward to are the NIMBY’s that will make this development very difficult to get off the ground.  I have a feeling this will get massively scaled back or won’t ever happen because of neighboring residents “concerns.” 

Does anyone have additional info on this project???  Feel free to share!

3 Responses to “New high rise condo planned for Lakeview East and Lincoln Park border!”

  1. Alan said

    An address would help next time. I think this spot on Diversey is a perfect place for a large project, but I do not liek the design at all. I would prefer one large building with an east west corridor and the height of the larger one in their design. I like the courtyard, but it is out of place on diversey so I’m not heartbroken over that. However, with this large building, it leaves yakzies between this and the corner building to the east which will be very weird as it is small and recessed. I’m guessing it is historic and cant be demolished?

    • ChicagoismynewBlog! said

      I’m not sure what the address is since it’s going to be taking up multiple addresses. I would love to see this part of Diversey have a nice wall of tall buildings right next to each other and Yakzies isn’t helping. I’m pretty sure it has some sorty of historic aspects to it but not sure if it’s THAT historic…

  2. AndrewW said

    Old news. August, 2009.

    http://www.44thward.org/Downloads/Devel%20pdfs/Parkway%20Point.pdf

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

